Skip to content

Belaur at Bedford

May 21, 2016

Friday, May 21, 2016 Day 20

More scones, clotted cream and strawberry jam and gathered up my stuff ready to go, as at noon I was catching the train from Coventry to Bedford, about a 2 hour train ride through the beautiful countryside, southeast of Coventry. I have wonderful friends there too, who are part of the Fox family we became acquainted with many years ago when Moira moved to Pakenham, where I used to live. Laurien Fox was Moira’s nephew who came to visit her family when he was about 16 and spent quite a bit of time at our home on the farm and we all loved Laurien!  The kids and I usually refer to Laurien as “Belaur”! He is now in his early 40s and picked me up at the train station at 2:40 pm and we had a lovely day. His 11 year old daughter, Caitlyn, was with him and we went to a lovely park in the centre of town, got some ice cream and walked around for about an hour. It was very pretty in spite of the once again dismal weather and must have been extra beautiful a couple of weeks ago when all the tulips were in full bloom. So enjoyable to see all the gorgeous swans on the River Great Ouse. Back to Laurien’s to have some Typhoo tea and meet up with his longtime partner Pam and eat my favourite orange cream cookies he got especially for me, remembering how much I loved them last time! They are SO YUMMY! I am staying with his parents, Paul and Diana, so he had me to their home close by for 5:00 pm for dinner and it was wonderful to see them again too! Diana made a lovely meal, Cumberland pie, with trifle for dessert. Laurien came back to get me and I spent more time with him and his family, seeing their 16 year old son Lewis again as well. Brett, 21, is now living on his own a short walk away. We talked and laughed and reminisced and returned to Paul and Diana’s and finally tumbled into bed about 11:00 pm! It was a great day! I am so happy to be back to Bedford for a few days.

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Tracy Millar permalink

    Tell him I need more dental surgery 🙂

  2. Farrah permalink

    Hahaha Tracy! I remember that!!!

  3. Rodger permalink

    Laurien! Please say a big hello to him for me. And to his mom and dad and sisters. I have such fond memories of the whole family!!

  4. Bryan permalink

    You and Belaur look like legends!

Leave a Reply

