Skip to content

Rotterdam

May 13, 2016

Thursday , May 12, 2016 Day 11

Another beautiful sunny morning and said good bye to Lieneke before she headed off to work and study. I hated to miss biking to the park with Chris while he did his early morning run, but I needed to get organized as I was leaving today, feeling sad as I had such a wonderful visit with my special Dutch friends. At noon Chris drove me to the train station in Fifi and I caught the train to Rotterdam. I wanted to visit Rotterdam a bit so I allowed about 3 hours there to get out and explore the city. It is the second largest city in the Netherlands and home to Europe’s largest port. I got some directions from a nice young man outside the station who walked me part way and then I toured around on my own, heading down towards the river, crossing a beautiful huge bridge. On the way back I met 2 young ladies from Woodstock, Ontario, who were travelling in Europe for the first time and we enjoyed walking for a short period together. Back to the central train station and then I

enjoyed the 2 and a half hour trip to Paris. The weather had changed somewhat when I arrived, cloudy and a little drizzly and cooler! I want to use my French but whenever I speak it, I am responded to in English!! I guess it is obvious I am not speaking it very well!! A short walk to St.Christopher’s Inns, the hostel I booked to stay at. I was a little leery about what it would be like, even having read many good things about it in reviews, and I have to say I am impressed. I love my dorm room with 5 other young ladies from Peru, Ireland, China. Not sure yet what my plans for tomorrow will be but excited to be here! Bon nuit!

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Denise :) permalink

    What do the trees on the water represent? Enjoy your stay in Paris. The eyes and a smile speak in a universal language. Bonne journée. 🙂

  2. will you get to see Tracy while in Europe?

    • Hi Evie! Believe it or not they are in Paris I believe today but we will not meet up sadly!!! Thank you for reading my blog and love when someone comments!! Hope all is well.xox

  3. Gary permalink

    Cool! Did you check out that port? I bet its quite a site to see. Glad you did not watch the movie Hostel before you left on your trip! Enjoy your weekend!

Leave a Reply

