Skip to content

Wahoo!

October 9, 2015
Day 22 Saturday, September 26,2015
THIS MORNING we were picked .up by Arthur, who lives in Cabaret, and driven to beautiful Wahoo Bay Beach Club and Resort. WWW.WAHOOBAYBEACH.COM.  I was really surprised to see how beautiful the place was!  Having been to a couple of beautiful resorts in Dominican Republic, the place matched any one of them and I have wondered why there could not be resorts like this here in Haiti! It is the same Caribbean island and I am sure it would do wonders for the economy here in Haiti if there were more resorts like this and they were promoted to bring.tourists in.  The beach was absolutely beautiful.  The resort I recently visited in DR with my friend Suzanne, employed 5000 Dominicans!  We were very happy to have wifi for the first time here in Haiti, at this rersort and I especially was really happy to send off a message to my children letting them know how much I missed being in regular touch with them, as usually when I am away I can still be in touch.   My children are the most important part of my life and I miss them so much. It cost $15.00 USD to enter the resort and my lunch was $9.00 USD, which was a grilled cheese sandwich and fries and a coca cola!!! just like at home !! I am not a fan of most of the food at our volunteer placement and often feel hungry, but would not even compare with the regular hunger the people in Desab feel on a regular basis.  On the way back to Desab we stopped at the crazy market in Cabaret. I was hoping I would spot my ipad on one of the market tables and I would have snatched it up in a hurry!  Nobody in Haiti runs around with an ipad, I don’t understand how or why it got stolen, It was my personal property and I still am really very distressed about it being taken!  We picked up some fresh fruit and vegetables and arrived back to our dorm around 6pm.  We hung out with the kids, had a bite to eat and chatted…….no rainstorms again tonight! DSCF1347 DSCF1348 DSCF1349 DSCF1351 DSCF1354
From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. suzanne permalink

    great pic sand fabulous job on the blog!!!!

  2. Denise :) permalink

    Good to receive news from you Kathy. Thanksgiving weekend and we can be thankful to share food with a neighbour 🙂 Thinking of you and thankful you are free to be of help. Maybe the iPad was a curiosity or exchanged for food. Love 🙂 “/

  3. Gary permalink

    The resort looks beautiful. Wow! Too bad you didnt stay there for the entire trip….but i guess that would defeat the purpose. Anyways, glad your having fun and Im sure you enjoyed that coca cola. Did they have coca cola anywhere else? or just at the resort?

Leave a Reply

