Skip to content

Trip to Florida With Bryan ( March18-27, 2015)

March 20, 2015

I was quite surprised while I was away on my volunteer trip to Central America, to receive an email from my son Bryan asking me if I could join him in Florida while he attended a business meeting. Of course he wished to take Nic, his girlfriend, but the timing was not good as she is working diligently to finish her 4th and final year at Ottawa U with assignments and final exams looming. She is a top student, but soon will be rewarded as she and Bryan are taking off for 3 glorious weeks in May to Ireland and Europe! Messages went back and forth as we tried to figure out how we could meet somehow at the end of my trip and together enjoy a few days of fun in the sun. His meeting was put forward to the 20th of March, after I was back home on the 6th, so plans were finalized to use my 2/1 free short haul buddy trip through my TD bank credit card, which would get us as far as Atlanta, Georgia. We arrived close to midnight on Wednesday night, March 18th, picked up a rental car( upgraded free to a midsize by our charismatic agent about to go off duty) and we headed to our prebooked hotel and had a good night’s sleep until 5:30 am, so we could catch the included breakfast before heading off to Orlando. We had looked at the weather for Atlanta and Jacksonville and it was rain for the day, so the 6 hour trip to get to Aquatica in Orlando (www.aquaticabyseaworld.com)where the sun was shining, was our plan. We had a fantastic afternoon at this fun, fun waterpark, although both thought we had drowned on one of the crazy slides we undertook( not kidding), but loved the lazy river and circled on that over and over again, even sneaking in an extra lap when we were told to exit( haha). We were both starving by then, as we had skipped lunch to arrive in good time, as it closed at 5 pm, so we headed to Jersey Mikes, a popular eatery here, and we enjoyed a couple of different subs which we split and shared for a “taste test”, still not full enough, we whipped into another popular eatery and grabbed a Hook and Ladder sub at Firehouse..mm..tasty! A 2 hour drive back to Jacksonville, checked into our Extended Care America location ( I read Extendicare and thought maybe this was a plot by Bryan to get me commited to long term care) haha… a great facility, priced cheap, all kitchen facilities and beautiful outdoor pool etc. Rushed in to get the Senators game on tv with no luck!! I was stressed as I could get nothing on the radio in the car either, but saw on my iPad in the hotel room that the game was tied in the 3rd period!! So excited when I found out they WON!!!GO SENS GO!!! Bryan thought then we should go out for the 1/2 price shakes at a shake place he knew about, so off we went.. I got strawberry cheesecake..he got a chocolate peanut butter one..huge and delicious..SWEET ending to a sweet day. I am so lucky to be having this trip with Bryan and what is so great is he thinks like me and is excellent at getting the best deal at everything to keep costs down. Like booking our Aquatica tickets ahead of time online and paying $30 each instead of the $57 posted at the gate and getting our accommodation through Hotwire and instead of paying over $100 for the night, getting it for less than 1/2 price, so when we share the costs of everything 50/50, getting the car rental with Air Miles, flights with Aeroplan etc etc our 10 day excursion will be very affordable, as we are both on limited budgets. Also, Bryan is an excellent driver. I am sorry Nic cannot be sharing this time with Bry..but so thankful for this special one on one time for me with my son..MOM and SON..lucky me!! 😄😃
image

image

From → Uncategorized

12 Comments
  1. Margaret Hurley permalink

    Enjoy your time in Florida. We are back home. Irene is stable. In good spirits. We’ll see where things go. Very sunny and bright here. In Florida my allergies were really bad so I don’t miss that. It was starting to get quite hot so I hope that you will get that too!

    Take care. Enjoy the rest of your time.

    Marg

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. Susan permalink

    I love it. Only you can be ready Kathy at a moment’s notice. I got your voice mail message that you were off to Florida. Have fun and enjoy every minute. (I would have done the same ha ha). I did the same going to Montreal and meeting new friends and had a blast. Enjoyed a lovely room at the Fairmont Queen Elizabeth – I wasn’t going to say no to that.

  3. Sounds fantastic!! Have fun! We will miss you tonight at Games Night!

  4. Jackie Holzman permalink

    Count your blessings…U R sooooo lucky!

    >

  5. Denise :) permalink

    “…we live a life, only one time and we have to see what we can do to make life better” Piita Irniq Inuit Elder. The best opportunity to share a memory for many years to come and a memory to look back on and smile 🙂

  6. Kathy,
    Ok miss travelholic! What do you have to left to see in this globe?? Glad you get to spend time with Bryan and outside of winter 🙂 you guys are amazing. Haha.
    Good for you.
    Xo, Vika

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

