Skip to content

The Good Samaritans

March 3, 2015

Sunday, March 1, 2015  Day 46

Here I am in beautiful Belize at Caye Caulker, an island 35 kilometres northeast of Belize City, which has a reef 1.5 km off shore. It is a marine reserve offering unbelievable activities for any imaginable water sport, and I look forward to going snorkelling there, as I love snorkelling! I had an interesting day, as again, my tour company messed me up. I was to be picked up at 5:00 am for the bus from Flores to Caye Caulker. I waited and waited and others were picked up but by a different tour company. Again, very upsetting and I had to get the staff at the hostel to make calls and finally at 7:30 am, a shuttle van arrived. I took some time toimageimage imageimage imageimage take some photos of Los Amigos..a great place! I have been carrying with me a picture of my family and I realize I have left them behind, but a fun place for them to be! A beautiful drive again, and we arrived at the dock in Belize City, in time to catch the 45 minute water taxi over to Caye Caulker. Well, to our surprise, myself and 2 others, who had paid to get to Caye Caulker, we did not have the voucher to cover the water taxi cost, which we needed to  get to the  island. I had been making careful decisions re my money to use up all my quetzales and had planned to withdraw Belizean money once on the island. However,  since I had lost my card on Saturday, I was relieved to read in my guide book that credit cards are accepted in Belize, as I had one for a back-up, but my Amex card was not accepted! I went quickly to an ATM  around the corner to try to draw out money on the credit card, but again it was not accepted! I was in trouble. The water taxi was just about to leave when a man from Canada whom I had spoken to, came running into the ticket office to see why I was not on the boat. I explained my situation and he ever so kindly forked me over enough cash for my ticket!!! I was so grateful..BUT how was I going to pay for a place to stay? Once again this guy and his wife helped me out and I got a great little single unit at the same low cost place they were booked at! They explained to the owner( they have been guests here before) my predicament and the plan is to figure out how I can get some money tomorrow. I will go to the local bank and hopefully they can help me. I was starving but did not like to say anything, but like the good Samaritans they are, Pat offered me some more money to get myself something to eat. Lots of interesting places here to grab some tasty grub, so tried out a place a couple of blocks away, away from the main drag, as apparently cheaper. Had a great meal for about $5 our money; tasty baked chicken thigh and leg, which I am not a fan of; was expecting a breast, but it was so good I cleaned it right down to the bare bones, along with the yummy mashed potatoes and salad.  I used to count on my brother Sean to lick the bones clean like that when I was growing up. Talked to some interesting folks at the outdoor eatery, then back to my cozy room here at The Sandy Lane Hotel..only room available  $20 per night but tomorrow I will move to a $10 room..private room still but with shared bathroom and shower! There are so many good people out there in this big, beautiful world.😄

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. Gary permalink

    NO MONEY!!! BIG PROBLEM!!! LOL, I love that sign. Sounds like your lucky to have such amazing people with you to help you out like that when your stuck! See you in 3 days! Hard to believe your where you are, and you will be right back where you started in 72 hours from now!!!!

  2. You are so right, many good people in the world! And Canadian!
    My what adventures you’ve had, makes for great stories. Can’t wait to hear more about Belize. It’s on my bucket list!
    Janice / Juanita

    • I have travelled a lot of places but I have to say this is one of my favourites..you must come, I love it..for $10 a night in paradise..😇xo

Leave a Reply

