Skip to content

No Gypsy Life for Me

May 27, 2013

Saturday, May 25, 2013

In the morning we hopped onto our Globus bus and the tour guide took us on a local tour of the city of Budapest (pronounced Budpesht). On one side of the beautiful Danube River, which runs through the middle of the city, is Buda and the other side is Pest. Both sides are very beautiful, and, like all the cities we have visited on this tour, have a lot of history and some of the most spectacular buildings, with such impressive, old architecture. Once again, a headful of facts on our whirlwind tour, which started off at Heroes Square and ended in the city centre,  so Trevor and I got off the bus then and decided to do more touring on our own.  I put my flipflops into gear as, again, we walked miles and miles and had a great afternoon! We had checked online the top 10 things to do here and we did them, once again gazing in astonishment at the massive and beautiful Parliament Buildings and so many other sites.ImageImageImage It was fun, as it was a beautiful day to be outside.  We crossed the famous Chain Bridge and the Margaret Bridge and went onto Margaret Island ( 2.5 km by 500 metres), a lovely oasis in the middle of the Danube that houses many recreational venues and is teeming with joggers, a great place to run with a track encircling it. We finished off the afternoon at the Szecheny thermal baths, which was quite expensive but worth doing, except I lost my pants!! Not sure how it happened, as I had a locker for my clothes but when I went to leave my pants were gone!!! I checked everywhere and it was so lucky, as I was just about to meet up with Trevor to leave and was going to be walking back to the hotel in quite a getup, when a local woman who was changing near me and recognized my dilemna, suddenly appeared with my pants. This place was huge, so how we met up at that point was pretty surprising. I thanked her profusely, as I was quite relieved to not have to walk the streets of Budapest half-naked! We power-walked back to the hotel, to arrive in the nick of time to head out for a very fun evening. We were bused to a local restaurant and enjoyed a delicious 5 course traditional Hungarian meal; yummy tomato/mushroom soup and I really like the Hungarian goulash! During the meal there was great entertainment by a local Gypsy band! It was so fun. We loved the music and dancing and we were all sorry when we had to hop back on the bus at 9:00 pm to return to our hotel. A lot of Gypsies live here in Budapest and part of our tour took us to the ramshackle places they live. Very interesting lifestyle how they keep moving and again, sadly, Hitler targeted the Gypsies in his murderous campaign.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Denise permalink

    You can see a documentary about gypsies in Hungary online. Glad you are taking time off from the tour group to enjoy what you and Trevor do best, hike around without a time schedule to follow. I am most interested to learn what you both have discovered about each of yourself, and about life from this month trip. Enjoy the days ahead. Denise 🙂

  2. Gary permalink

    Wow! That blue water look srefreshing. Like the Almonte beach! The gypsy music would be great stuff! Never heard it before but you got me interested. Are there gypsys in Canada?

Leave a Reply

