Skip to content

Spectacular Views

August 29, 2012

My post today is for Tuesday the 28th. It is easier to write my comments the following day. I can usually find someplace to zip into to find some free wifi and now I am in the Canyon Cafe.

It was a little chilly settling into our tent Monday night but I think we all slept well enough. It is so quiet and peaceful in the campground and the campsites are lovely. We headed over to the Visitor Centre to get some direction for how to best spend our time here at the Canyon. We watched a great film and found out about the various shuttles we could catch to take in the many viewing sites and opportunities for hiking. After a tasty lunch we decided to go on the Hermit Rest Red Route. We could shuttle or walk to the various sites overlooking the Canyon and we did a bit of both. The weather was very nice; sunny but not too hot!

The views were spectacular and it is incredible learning about the millions of years of history creating this natural wonder.

5,000,000 visitors come each year from all around the world and I am glad I was able to make the trip and knock it off my bucket list.

The boys made a great campfire again in the evening and we had  yummy hot dogs and roasted marshmallows again. They really hit the spot!

An early morning adventure is planned for Wednesday with my Dollar Store alarm clock being set for 5:45 am!!

 

 

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Marg permalink

    I am making sure that I read your blog everyday. I would love to see the Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam some day. Having seen Las Vegas it is not on the list anymore but it sure is a neat place to see once.

    I hope your headaches have subsided. You have not written any comment about them so assume that the meds are working or the headaches have disappeared (with any luck!).

    Marg xoxoox

  2. gary sadler permalink

    Giiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiday Wieseys. Did you run into any creeps in the Canyon? I forgot to mention on your last one that the Hoover Dam must have been neat. Did you do a tour of it? Or just cruise right on by…..?

    Is it scary sleeping in that old canyon? Mite get attacked by a native or something….never know. What else do you do there? Can you rent canoes or something? Be careful whatever you do.

    Can someone bring me back a rock from the Canyon just to say I have one? even a little one would meanthe world to me.

    Im off to have a bowl of meowmix, then back to work.

    Love you all!

    Guids

Leave a Reply

